Leanne Nalani











{August 16, 2012}   Vacationing Health Results

I think this post is more of a confession than anything. I went into the week-long vacation with this plan:

  • Track food
  • Anticipate ahead
  • Try to walk 10,000 steps daily
  • Drink 64oz of water
  • Take multivitamin

Everything was doable and I had the most trouble with anticipating ahead. I was aiming to not eat HUGE portions but succumbed to temptation several times. Among the large amounts of junk food includes:

  • Pub mix
  • Fettucini Alfredo with shrimp, chicken, & prosciutto
  • Red velvet cake (twice)
  • Ben & Jerry’s ice cream, pint (twice)
  • That giant ice cream sundae thing I posted about the other day
  • BBQ chicken, fry bread, & baked beans
  • Huckleberry sweets including taffy, chocolate covered gummy bears, white chocolate, & caramel corn
  • Garlic bread
  • Shrimp risotto
  • Various alcoholic beverages including red wine, champagne, Sex on the Beach, Mudslide, & Long Island Iced Tea

The routine was eating almost nothing all day and then going all out at night with dinner and dessert. I’m not sure how it ended up that way but it did!

Now let’s find out what the scale has to say about that. I usually weigh in daily, but it’s been a whole week. Going to weigh in now…

Wow, only 2.4 pounds gained? I’ll take it! I feel like I deserve to gain at least 5. Maybe it’s because of all the strength training and working out regularly that revved my metabolism.

Since it wasn’t a big gain after all that eating, here’s what I did well over the course of the week:

  • Drank about 64 ounces of water every day
  • Made sure to get in 10,000 steps a day, except for the last 2 days was more like 5,000
  • Tracked EVERYTHING, even all the binges
  • Didn’t force myself to eat regular sized breakfasts/lunches if I wasn’t hungry, since the evening’s meals usually carried me until the next evening
  • Hiked for 2 hours and rafted for 3 hours on Tuesday
  • Enjoyed everything without spending time worrying about it

Ok, time to get back to normal life. This is what maintenance is all about. Sometimes this craziness happens and you just keep living and balancing. Obviously I’m not going to be eating the 2,000+ calories a day I was eating on vacation. Looking forward to getting some exercise.

That doesn’t seem too bad. And, really, who would not want to eat/try chocolate covered gummy bears?!?

I think the important thing is to not regret things. When I went on my trip, I regretted some of the food- not because it was “bad,” but because it didn’t taste that great. If I’m going to splurge, I should eat something REALLY good, right?

Out of curiosity- you said you weigh daily (so do I), but many people suggest not doing that. Did you weigh daily when you were trying to lose weight?



I don’t think I regret any of the foods I ate on this trip. It was all so good! When I was losing weight I think that I did weigh in every day. In past weight losses, I used to only do it once a week. Both have worked for me without any issues, but I like the daily better. The problem with weekly is that I would be way too careful the day before the weekly weigh in. Now I am so used to stepping on the scale that there’s not a whole lot of thinking or fear involved.



Leave a Comment

et cetera
