Leanne Nalani











{November 15, 2012}   November Ups and Downs

Can you believe it’s Thanksgiving next week? Time has been flying. I love the holiday season and it’s almost time to break out the Christmas music in the car! Anyone doing anything exciting for Thanksgiving? We’re going to my sister-in-law’s place to spend the day with Mike’s side of the family.

I keep hearing the ads for Black Friday and am so glad that I don’t partake in that stuff. It’s hard to imagine showing up to get in line long before the sun rises, after getting stuffed with turkey and pumpkin pie. And then getting trampled to death by the mobs of people.

These last few weeks have involved emotional ups and downs for no apparent reason. The last time I wrote I’d overindulged on the weekend. The same thing happened again last week. Something about the weather getting colder, right? Even so, I’ve been doing really well on the health front. It’s becoming easier and easier to get back on track because this isn’t a short-term thing anymore – It’s just life. Life is good even with these irrational roadblocks.

Mostly stress comes from work. Earlier in the school year I took on the challenges head first without much reservation. Now it’s starting to grate on me and I no longer look forward to B days. The only way I’ve been able to deal with it is by thinking positively and remembering that I can’t have complete control over every little thing.

On Facebook a lot of people have started a daily post of what they are grateful for, so to help myself I am going to try starting a gratitude journal. Nothing public, just a physical journal I can write in and express what makes me happy in life. Maybe it will keep my sanity in check and realize it’s not all bad just because work isn’t perfect and I’m not feeling as “fulfilled” as one would expect a teacher should be.

Oh, and I got my hair done. I have blue bangs and purple ombre (which you can’t see) now, but I am normally going to keep the bangs swooping to the left, unlike this photo:

So far reviews have been mixed. Husband doesn’t like the bangs and some students are like, “What the hell did you do?” But others like them. I dunno. I think they’re ok but it’s hard to get used to.

Did you have bangs before? Or are they new? I love the color! I like that you can have the color at work!!



Thanks! No, I’ve never had bangs since I was a little girl. Crazy, right? They’ve grown on me. They don’t actually look like they do in the picture I posted because I have them swooped to the left and so they look less “rock star”.



Cassy says:

I want to get bangs too, I think! Dunno if I am daring enough to add color though! haha And I have no idea what it is about this month… but my will power is definitely taking some major hits!



You have a great hair color to throw in some crazy bright hair dye! I am jealous of blondes because you don’t have to bleach your hair. Much healthier that way. I think you would look great with bangs, too!



Leave a Comment

et cetera
