Leanne Nalani











{December 9, 2012}   Holiday Drag Show!

Last night was fabulous. I spent the day knitting because I’ve been wanting to finish this project for a while and have been busy with other things. If you knit you know you have to be doing something else like watching TV, so I have been watching all the seasons of Keeping Up With the Kardashians. I’m on season 3. As long as you know how terribly scripted it is, which would no longer categorize it as a “reality show” (yes I know all reality shows are scripted, but this is worse), it’s pretty entertaining.

That evening we went to Seattle and met up with a few friends at this cool restaurant called Lunchbox Laboratory.

Lunchbox-Laboratory-Bellevue

This place has all kinds of concoctions in terms of burgers and shakes. There must be about 20 different sauces to choose from and the wide variety of shakes sound so good!

I was tempted to order one but I have this goal to not eat ice cream until next weekend because of my ice cream addiction. They had flavors like Nutella, pumpkin pie, and eggnog! I got to try a sip of the eggnog so that fulfilled my craving. Sometimes all you need is a bite or a sip of someone else’s food/drink, you know? That way you don’t feel like you have to eat/drink the whole thing and you can still get the satisfaction of trying something new.

I ordered a build your own burger and they had these strange options for patties. There was churken (chicken/turkey), dork (duck/pork), lamb, black bean, beef, etc. What’s interesting is you can’t order just chicken or turkey. Has to be churken. I was intrigued so that’s what I got with pepperjack cheese, grilled onions, and buffalo ketchup with a side of sweet potato fries. I couldn’t taste the cheese at all and the churken was interesting. It was just ok. The miracle of the night is that I didn’t finish my burger because I just didn’t feel like eating the whole thing. Say whaaaat?! That never happens.

I did try their mac and cheese. Whoa, this mac was a huge cheese bomb of cheddar and American cheese. Would you like some noodles with your cheese?

S

For real, it was like stuffing your mouth with pure cheddar cheese – One of my favorite foods in the world. It wasn’t a solid or a liquid… I’m not sure how to describe it. After taking 3 bites I decided to avoid going into cardiac arrest before our show.

Speaking of show, we went to a holiday drag show! Dina Martina – The intentional train-wreck drag queen:

dmf

She was hilarious in all kinds of disastrous ways. She even performed without pants the second half of the show. It was a full house and we got the very last seats which weren’t really seats at all. They were steps that had labels saying “seat” on them. haha

Leave a Comment

et cetera
