Leanne Nalani











{March 20, 2013}   More Jillian… & YMCA

Of course, those two topics don’t relate at all!

Jillian is coming to Seattle! OMG, my hero is going to be here. Should I get tickets? I almost want to spend the $150 for the VIP tickets because then I’d get to be a part of a Q&A session. The thing I don’t like about that is that I want to actually meet her and I don’t know if that’s possible. I don’t want to ask her questions, I just want to give her a hug and tell her how much I admire her – The good and the bad. I haven’t always agreed with her methods on the Biggest Loser, but I do love her hard-ass attitude mixed with her wonderful compassion. It would be a dream to be able to train with her in person.

I tried her new Hard Body DVD that just came out. Last week I reviewed level 1. I did level 2 on Monday and am pretty sure she’s trying to get someone killed. lol Seriously, it’s plyometrics heaven. I HATE plyos with a passion. So much hate. I don’t see myself doing Level 2 very often, if at all. I had to modify almost every move and I consider myself to be a fit person. Obviously not fit enough for that stuff! Overall I’m not a big fan of this DVD. It’s just not for me personally.

8879155

Ok, let’s move away from Jillian.

We had a family dinner on Sunday on my husband’s side, which is why I got all gussied up in green. We drank Guinness and ate our dinner while listening to the YMCA. Um, yeah, you read that correctly! Our little niece and nephew were singing it at the dinner table, so my sister-in-law put the song on the stereo. Entertainment value! I also tried polenta for the first time and enjoyed it. It’s a very interesting, new, and unexpected food for me.

creamy-polenta

Last week I was craving beans. Weird, right? So I bought my favorite beans from the store, black and kidney. I figured why not just throw them all in the crock pot and see what happens, so I sauteed some garlic and onions and threw those in, added a little bit of chicken broth and a packet of chili seasoning, and put in a couple bay leaves for good measure. In other words, I made meatless chili without realizing it. I just knew I wanted to eat beans! While it was cooking, Mike decided to throw in half a small jar of jalapeno peppers in their own juice. This was the key ingredient which I hadn’t even thought of! The beans are so good and so spicy. Love it!

american-mezzetta-sliced-tamed-jalapeno-peppers-16floz-473ml-jar-15942-p

fasterfastest says:

Well hey fellow Seattle-ite! I’ve never seen Jillian Michaels, but I know tons of people who swear by her workouts. And I feel your pain about plyos. They are the worst, but when you’re done you feel so accomplished!

Your meatless chili sounds yummy. I love when recipes just come together like that!



Hey there neighbor! I think you’re the first person in the blogosphere I’ve talked to who’s from the area! No “snow showers today” which makes me very happy. Where is this spring season they speak of? haha



I listened to a couple of her audiobooks. She seems to really know her stuff. It would be cool to see her.

FYI – my titles never relate – so no worries!



I think her mom was a therapist… Makes sense. 🙂



I absolutely love Jillian also! I have her 30 day shred, and I do like the video, never got past level 1, felt just about ready to die at the end. Now that I’m in better shape, I just may go back to it! HAHA I am a glutton for punishment.



The more you go back to it, the better you’ll get! I always suck at Jillian’s workouts but after doing them a few times it gets a lot better.



Leave a Comment

et cetera
