Leanne Nalani











{June 22, 2013}   Day 5 Success!

Friday was another good one! Lots of exercise and eating well. The scale showed absolutely nothing this morning. Just stayed the same as yesterday. It was bound to happen at some point.

I went grocery shopping and got a bunch of yummy fruits and some veggies. I’m not a veggie fan so anything at all is a good thing. Snap peas and carrots for this girl. I also tried some experimental recipes – Carrot chips, Strawberry poppers, and black bean spring rolls. I made the last two up but the carrots came from Pinterest. Here was yesterday’s yummyness:

photo

Chobani Vanilla with raspberries and blackberries with carrot chips

Every time I get groceries I treat myself to berries. They’re so stupid expensive that I can’t justify getting more than two small boxes. The carrot chips are super easy to make and are quite good! They are way better than eating raw carrots, which I quickly get sick of chewing. Here’s the recipe:

Carrot Chips

1. Peel carrots into thick slices

2. Toss in olive oil and salt (I used kosher salt and spray olive oil)

3. Bake at 350 degrees for 12 minutes

4. Cool and enjoy!

phpThumb_generated_thumbnailjpg

I’ll use a peeler today instead of a knife. My slices were too thick because I’d call them carrot fries rather than chips.

The other thing I tried was putting black beans and cheese into a spring roll wrapper, which I’ve never handled before. Yeah, silly idea. The wrapper was way too thin and the beans were too wet so it just didn’t hold at all. I was going to try to use the wrappers to make some kind of strawberry shortcake thing with Cool Whip but I could already tell that wasn’t going to turn out well.

Last night I was trying to figure out what to do with the strawberries and Cool Whip so I sliced the strawberries and put half a tbsp of Cool Whip in between them, then stuck them in the freezer. They turned out good! I’d let them sit an thaw for a little bit before eating, though. I dub them “Strawberry Poppers”.

Strawberry-santas-with-cool-whip

Like this, sans Christmas theme

I should try the carrot chips!



You an inspiring me to get back on track!



Leave a Comment

et cetera
