Leanne Nalani











{August 8, 2013}   Thursday Ramblings

I’ve felt happier in general having taken it easy since coming back from our trip. I even went into FitBit and lowered my step goal to 8,000 and miles to 4. Considering a 60 minute Zumba session won’t even get me 10,000 steps, why should I aim for that goal? The point is to get adequate exercise.

Today I did a big grocery shopping trip and picked up lots of fruits and veggies to munch on. So far today I feel like I’ve eaten a ton of food because it’s been a lot of produce and healthy proteins. I’m officially reducing my yogurt to once a day, plain greek yogurt – With pieces of fruit to sweeten it up. I can’t get rid of sugar, but I can at least reduce it. The Chobani nonfat fruit yogurts had almost 20 grams of sugar in those little 6oz cups. Unfortunately if I eat more fruit then that still packs on sugar…

What do you do about sugar when you only like some veggies (and by “like” I mean they’re just ok but mostly blah) and love fruit?

My diploma came while we were on vacation, which means it’s real and I don’t have to go back to college ever again. Yippee! I mean, don’t get me wrong, higher education is great and all, it’s just a huge pain in the butt. Especially with a full time career.

images

Today a cool item arrived on my doorstep. Bento boxes! These originated in Japan, but they are basically compartmentalized lunch boxes. This fits perfectly with my lifestyle at work – My colleagues like to make fun of me for packing my food in little Gladware cups. Now I’ve got these beautiful bento boxes and all the pieces can be mixed and matched. The company is Monbento.

2

I lowered my fitbit goal too. Mine is at 7000 steps for now, which is getting to be very doable. I like seeing that I met my goal at the end of the day.

At least fruit is a natural sugar. I know people say not to eat too much fruit, but it’s still better than many other options. I think some are less amounts of sugar than others? I’m not positive on that, but if you like all kids, it might be worth looking at to make sure you don’t eat the ones with more sugar all day long.

Do you like lettuce salads at all? You could add berries to them to get the fruit you love, and also some veggies at the same time. Just a thought. I think you’re doing great and am glad to hear you’re more relaxed about it all!



I’m the same way with FitBit. If I do a long cardio session and it still doesn’t say 10,000 steps, I feel like a failure. It’s silly, but true.
I read a little bit on sugar and it sounds like sugar from fruit is not considered to count as much as added sugars, although that doesn’t completely negate fruit as something to reduce. There are some fruits that are lower in sugar like raspberries and apples. Tangerines and cherries are very high in sugar which is unfortunate because I love cherries so much!
I do like salads. I actually prefer them with baby spinach or spring greens mixes. I don’t care as much for iceberg lettuce, which is a good thing. I often don’t want to go through the effort to make a salad because I like to chop veggies like red onions and peppers and throw them in. I’m just lazy. lol But yes, I do like those things. πŸ™‚ Litehouse dressing is awesome, too.



I haven’t eaten iceberg lettuce in years. I prefer romaine right now, but keep thinking about branching out and trying other varieties. I’m lazy about chopping veggies too, but have learned to enjoy salads a lot…and since it’s my main way to eat veggies, I suck it up. πŸ™‚



fitin52 says:

I felt the same way when I got my diploma! But now of course I’m regretting my choice of changing my major from early childhood education to child development. It just means I would need more school if I want to teach, am I’m finding the desire to teach again so strong. Either kindergarten or high school child development and other family studies classes – teaching the kids all I know about what I’ve been doing for the past 15 years. Idk. But there’s this thing call “alternative routes to licensure” through our school districts so I’m going to check that out. Anyway, now I’m rambling… πŸ˜‰



Awww that sucks. Teaching is a great career except for not getting paid enough to really live off of well. I started in elementary education and then switched to special Ed because one professor was my aunt’s cousin and at a family function she and my mom convinced me it was the better choice because there will always be a need for sped teachers. Luckily I doubled up and did elementary endorsement, too, but that doesn’t exactly do much good in high school. lol I hope you are able to use one of those alternative license routes. Good luck!



Good day! I am going to up my goal now that I am on the mend!



Leave a Comment

et cetera
