Leanne Nalani











{August 28, 2013}   Steampunk, Lacking Sleep, & 30DS (Days 4/5)

Steampunk

My handmade steampunk jump drive arrived yesterday! Came all the way from Poland. I love how heavy it feels because it’s not going to fall apart on me.

photoLove the Polish stamps. Yeah, I don’t get out much.

photo3

photo2It keeps all my SkyDrive backups safe. 🙂

Lacking Sleep

Going back to my classroom has been refreshing. The downside of this time of year is that there is so many crazy tasks that need to be done in addition to the typical teacher things. They make us take everything off our walls, stack all chairs and tables, etc. in June. That means we have to set everything up all over again. I am almost finished.

photo5The front half of the room. My classes are 10 kiddos.

photo4The back half. It’s a tiny room but I think that I organize it pretty well. 

photo7I spend a lot of time here. Those computers were recently added in May or June!

photo6My little teacher section. Yoga dogs!

You might be wondering where the lack of sleep part fits in. The last 2 nights I’ve woken up between 2-3am, my brain popping with all kinds of great ideas for school. Apparently this is the only time my brain can think of genius ideas, as this has happened quite a few times since the beginning of last year. After jotting down my ideas, I attempt to get back to sleep and it takes a couple hours. Oh well, totally worth the ideas.

Health – 30 DS (Day 4/5), FitBit, & Racquetball

Lots of physical activity this week! We played more racquetball on Tuesday and Wednesday and that’s why my FitBit stats have been way up there. I love it but it’s leaving me starving! FitBit and MFP are both telling me to eat like 1600 calories on those days. I’m not used to eating that much food but my stomach has been confirming that it’s necessary with all the hunger. Our plan is 2-3 days a week of the 60 minute racquetball sessions. The upside? Not worrying about eating all the Vietnamese food at work or those fig rolls/fig leathers with almonds and seeds that a colleague brought back from Turkey. Yum!

30DS still going strong on days 4-5. Do I need to go all 10 days of Level 1 before moving on to Level 2, or does it matter? It’s been pretty hard for me because I do it as soon as I get home from an exhausting day at work (and then go on to play racquetball for an hour!) but I’m feeling stronger and accomplished considering the lack of sleep and full work days which I’m not used to.

keep-calm-and-30-day-shred

There is something about stamps – I have a giant collection I collected as a kid. I have a few shoeboxes full of them – don’t know if I will ever actually do anything with them (like filing them away). I just like the pictures and the themes 🙂



Love the Keep Calm and…posters! Keep it up lady! 🙂



Isn’t it fun getting ready for school? My library is a mess and I can’t do anything with it because the kindergarten classes that were suppose to be finished for the opening of school are no where near ready. Of course that means that my library is one of the rooms in the school that will be set up as a temporary kindergarten class for about 2 weeks or more. I often get my best ideas when I’m trying to sleep, especially this time of year. Don’t push yourself too hard with the exercise. You don’t want to injure yourself and then not be able to do it at all.



That must be so hard to be forced to wait before fixing up your library! At our school “temporary” means “most likely indefinite”. Hopefully your school isn’t that way! I’m glad I’m not the only one with middle of the night ideas.



I LOVE that jump drive!!! How flipping cute is that?? Stay strong kiddo! You’re doing great!



Thanks! Yes, this jump drive is beautiful AND functional! My other jump drive fell apart because it was so flimsy.



I say if Level 1 is fairly easy for you, move on to Level 2. You’re doing awesome!



When you put it that way it’s easy for me to say I’m not ready for level 2 quite yet. Maybe in a couple days. Thank you for the encouragement and recommendation!



Leave a Comment

et cetera
