Leanne Nalani











{September 4, 2013}   First Day of School!

First Day of School

You’d have thought I was on something today. It’s like I took a happy pill with all the energy I threw at the kids this morning for the first day of school. Happy bombs everywhere. Hey, our freshmen need to feel welcome and excited to be a part of our school!

happy-pills-1

I was also impressed by their energy during the icebreaker I forced upon them at 7:30am. It was a form of “musical chairs” where the person in the middle says something about themselves and if it applies to anyone, those people have to move seats. Usually getting 14-year-olds to move that early is like pulling teeth.

With the 3-period daily block schedule, my two 105-minute classes are the first thing that happens at the beginning of every morning after Advisory (aka Home Room). Today I met some of the nicest new students and am excited to get to know them. Then I go out into other classrooms to support kids with special education needs in literacy and math. It’s a pretty ideal schedule and I’m totally in love with it.

Remember that para I was worried about, the one who only had experience with toddlers? She declined the position so now I have a substitute para. So far he seems pretty awesome. We really don’t know how long it will be before we can interview people, but if he’s as good as I think he could be then I might beg him to stick around for the year. He’s actually in the process of getting his teaching certificate.

Things are just falling into place at work which makes me feel very content.

This afternoon teachers had to stay an extra hour and our principal bought us fruit popsicles and Klondike Bars. Which one do you think I took?

The Klondike Bar!

Why? Because I’ve been upping my calories yet again with this whole “maintenance” thing. Never had a Klondike Bar so I tried a Heath one and it was divine after a crazy day.

4142507292_4029677979230 Calories for a moment of heaven.

Maintenance

With the new maintenance plan, both the MFP & FitBit apps are telling me to eat a ton. It’s crazy. How does one go from being used to 1200-1300 calories to 2000 on a high-exercise day? Is that even realistic for maintenance? Today I moved a lot at school, came home, and immediately went to the racquetball court to play for an hour with DH. At that point FitBit and MFP are both like, “Eat, ya crazy bitch!” Like 700 calories more than I was expecting. The other day I kept eating and eating to the point where I felt too full before bed and still full in the morning, which didn’t seem right. We’ll have to see in a week or two if this results in real maintenance or a gain.

As for food, I’m being more liberal with calories, as in not as worried about it because I get to eat so much more. Lately the fun healthy treat has been peanut butter & banana sandwiches with Mike’s Killer Bread. I toast the bread and then add the PB & slice up one of those mini bananas. Yummy!

fried_peanut_butter_and_banana_sandwich1217-291x437

Heya
Make sure you don’t increase calories too dramatically otherwise it will lead to fat gain and might throw you off. Have a google but I increase by 100 calories a week, I think some people do 50 calories per day.
Sounds like you had a great first day



willbfit says:

I take my hat off to you, lady! It takes a special kind of person with lots of patience, understanding, and a big heart to be a teacher. I don’t think I could do it. Thank you for all you do for your students!



Leave a Comment

et cetera
