Leanne Nalani











{October 23, 2013}   Sick Day

kleenex

I’ve been scarce this week because of this cold. I spent a lot of time over the weekend resting. On Monday I taught my class and went home early. At home I curled up on the coach with Loki, watching the Duggars on Netflix. That is one fascinating family! Their culture reminds me a little bit of the Amish.

Tuesday was a meeting-filled day so it was too busy to take time off for rest. Because of that, I’ve taken today as my sick day to stay home. I’ve had a good 10 hours of sleep and am feeling alright just laying in bed.

I haven’t been exercising or really moving at all, as my FitBit stats keep saying. Food hasn’t really been great, either. I am such a baby when I’m sick (and PMSing simultaneously) that I’ve been feeling sorry for myself and eating not-so-healthy options. I don’t feel too terrible about it because I know that things will get better soon.

For this week, it feels like there’s this foreign bug in my brain – A slithering insect that is making me become someone else. No energy, no motivation, no desire to live that healthy life I love so much. It happens.

I’ve been reading a lot, though! I gave myself permission to set aside Game of Thrones because it’s such a huge commitment. I usually read one book at a time, and this was becoming a problem. I’ve postponed Game of Thrones so I can enjoy two other books, Gone Girl and Allegiant.

8442457

I chose to read Gone Girl after Ashley at Chocolate Covered Race Medals recommended it. Thank you, Ashley! Whenever someone says they can’t put a book down, I tend to fall in line because those types of books are few and far between for me lately. And OMG it’s really good! I don’t want to put it down but then there’s also Allegiant, the third book in the Divergent series by Veronica Roth.

allegiant-book-cover-high-res

Tris and Tobias, back in a new adventure going outside the edge of the world. I’m excited to read this one because this series is so good.

Well, that’s about it for now. I hope everyone is having a great week!

*Have you read either of these authors?

I couldn’t put Gone Girl down and then at the end wasn’t quite sure how I felt about the whole thing. Definitely gripping and I’ll be checking out her other books though.



OMG I just got from 30% done yesterday to almost 70% done right now and wow, I’m loving it so far. I’m very curious about how it’s going to end. I better keep reading!



Hope you feel better soon! Let me know how those books are, I’ve been interested in both 🙂



Thank you! I’m already starting to feel better with all the rest I got today. I’ve been reading a lot more of Gone Girl and it got even more interesting! I’ll have to review it when I’m finished.



Kim Fleck says:

Hey Leanne, I read Divergent about two weeks ago, and am looking forward to the other two books. They are awesome. Another book I read was Brilliance by Marcus Sakey. That was VERY GOOD! Kim



Kim! 😀 What is Brilliance about? Also, there are two mini books in the divergent series you should read called Free Four and The Transfer. Definitely little additions to the series that are worth reading before you get to Allegiant.



Leave a Comment

et cetera
