Leanne Nalani











{October 25, 2013}   Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

8442457

 

I finished Gone Girl yesterday and decided it is worth reviewing.

First, for those who don’t know, it’s basically a murder mystery. NOT AT ALL my typical genre, so just keep that in mind as you read my review. I typically read fantasy or sci-fi types of novels. I’m obsessed with the dystopian stuff.

Occasionally I’ll pick up a New York Times best seller like this one.

I loved this book. It is one of the most messed up books I’ve ever read which is part of what makes it so interesting and worth reading. I enjoyed the author’s way of telling the story including the format of the book and the character voices.

The story unfolded in a way that makes you want to keep reading. It’s definitely one of those books you just can’t put down. As the book continues, especially about halfway through, it gets even more fascinating. When I already thought it was a really good read, I wasn’t expecting it to get even better with the turn of a single page.

I was having just too much fun reading this book. Can you tell?

As for the ending, I hear that it may not have been as good as some were hoping it would be. At first I wanted to be unsatisfied with it, but quickly changed my mind after taking some time to think about it. I feel that the ending was… Appropriate. I don’t want to give anything away so I’m not going to say any more about that. Whether or not you like the ending, the journey of the book is what makes it all worth it.

Read this book! Just note that it has very mature content throughout.

After reading Gone Girl I marked it in GoodReads and happened to look over some of the reviews. Wow, they are mixed! There were many people who loved the book and many who hated it. One woman said that she thought there was too much swearing even though she claimed to “swear like a sailor”. I thought this was interesting because I don’t swear like a sailor and I didn’t think it was that bad. Yeah, the content of the whole book is very mature, but that’s to be expected considering the type of book that it is.

They are making it into a move, starring Ben Affleck, Rosamund Pike, and Neil Patrick Harris (yay!). Details here.

Anyway, I highly recommend reading this one! If you couldn’t tell.

Loved this book as well 🙂 Minus the ending. . .



Yeah, I guess I might describe the ending as something I love to hate. I don’t really hate it but it’s definitely interesting. At least the rest of the book is a trip!



“Definitely interesting” is a perfect way to describe this ending. It was a little depressing and yet very believable. I’m intrigued by the idea of a movie! – Jess



I was hoping the female lead would have been an actress I’d heard of before. Oh well, at least I’m sure the movie will be an interesting watch!



Leave a Comment

et cetera
