Leanne Nalani











{November 11, 2013}   Great Wolf Lodge

First, happy Veteran’s Day to all those who have served our country.

VeteransDay6

My dad served during Vietnam, my cousin also served and so did our friend who has just recently moved and is starting his new career today.

Second, this has been a super busy and very FUN weekend.

great-wolf-lodge

Dinner Saturday

Well, ok, it started with a nice dinner with Mike’s mom. I don’t think I’ve seen her in a year or so. She came over to our house for dinner and we taught her how to play Dominoes and Apples to Apples. Mike found a recipe for home made slow-cooked chicken noodle soup and it turned out very good. I can’t recall ever trying the kind that didn’t come in a can, so it was quite the treat!

Great Wolf Lodge!

On Sunday Mike and I headed down to Great Wolf Lodge to have some fun with his siblings, their significant others, and our niece and nephew. I was surprised at how close this place is to our house – It’s only about an hour’s drive! If you haven’t heard of this place, it is an indoor water park with multiple other kinds of entertainment and a hotel. Most of the time people have to book a hotel room in order to get access to the park.

Not knowing what to expect on a 3-day holiday weekend, it started with a packed parking lot. Once inside, there were kids everywhere, but what else can you expect? This place was made for families. It was well-controlled chaos which I thought was nice. The facilities are beautiful, too. It didn’t take long before we were out in the park, running around and acting like the children we were surrounded by.

10water.583This giant bucket fills up and the splashes anyone standing under it.

We found our niece and nephew in the wave pool with their parents and spent a lot of time tossing them around and having the swim between us.

051112AJ_GreatWolf2

But the really fun stuff was the tube rides!

great_wolf_lodge3See that giant red and yellow thing? That’s the Howling Tornado

There were four bigger water rides, two where you could get on normal-sized single or double tubes. The other two rides were the big ones where you could have 4-5 people at once in a special raft. Those were crazy-fun! That picture shows the outside of the Howling Tornado. You get on a clover-leaf raft of up to 4 people and it drops you into this giant bowl-thing. I can still feel the back and forth movements.

GWLGrandMoundFunnel2This is kind of what it looks like on the inside.

So anyway, I may be a little too excited here as a 31-year old woman, but ya know… Last night when our niece and nephew and their parents left around 6 to get dinner (and all the other families, too), the four of us adults had a few drinks at the bar and then kept doing these giant slides over and over and over again because the lines were short. It was also dark outside, so we were going in blind. So much fun.

This morning we did them again, sober and with light outside. The big one was a lot more scary when you can see that you’re about to drop off a cliff and into this huge tornado-bowl. And when you’re sober.

great-wolfjpg-f63809ead14a035eThis is the view while waiting in line.

Eating

It is amazing how dehydrated one can get while surrounded by water. I did not stay hydrated at all this weekend. Throughout the stay I was really really good with food, though! Pizza was my only dinner choice so I had 2 slices. What was interesting was that right around bed time my stomach wouldn’t stop growing, so I had to eat a leftover turkey club wrap just so I could sleep. I must have burnt a lot of calories at the water park. There was a lot of stair climbing, not to mention swimming and walking around. My fitbit had to be left behind so the steps from Sunday and today are completely off.

Monokini

Oh, so I wore this sexy little number at the park:

Victorias-Secret-Push-Up-Monokini

It felt a little inappropriate considering it’s a family place and how everyone else there was dressed, but I didn’t feel too bad (aka bloated) wearing it. I was worried about feeling uncomfortable in it because of all the bad eating I’ve been doing lately. In fact, I even had a dream about it – A dream where I bought like 3 sheet cakes with butter cream frosting and was totally binge eating, and the dream took place on the day I was supposed to be going on this trip. Can we say anxiety dream?

OATMEAL

We woke up and I had the perfect breakfast. After standing in the Starbuck’s line for about 20 minutes, I got a grande skinny peppermint mocha with their Classic Perfect Oatmeal. I didn’t include the brown sugar or the nuts and only used half the bag of dried fruit. 130 calories for the drink and 200 calories for the oatmeal sustained me happily until lunch.

When we got home around 1, I did Jillian’s Ripped in 30. Today I tried level 2 for the first time. It was brutal! Ouch. I can’t believe she’s having me to this at only level 2:

jillian_michaels_ripped_in_30_level_2_crow_push_up

These are supposed to be push ups with knees going to elbows. You bet I was doing the modification today! I can barely do a normal push up.

Then it took another 2 hours to do some basic chores to get ready for the busy work week. Now I’m ready to finally rest up and chill for the night!

*How was your weekend?

*Have you been to a Great Wolf Lodge? I hear there are about 5 of them around the country.

Cassy says:

OH MAN! That place looks awesome! I so want to go there! Like right now. haha As it is raining and snowing outside. haha Definitely burn a lot of calories climbing up stairs and swimming around… I am always ravenous after swimming. So jealous of your weekend!



It’s very warm and humid inside this place. I think they said it’s supposed to be 84 degrees, so it’s the perfect place to go when it’s freezing outside! Snow already? Yikes. Well, I guess we have a high of 52 today so that is pretty chilly.



How COOL is that place, seriously?



It’s pretty amazing. I can’t believe there’s a place like this so close to my house. Too bad it’s so expensive!



Thanks for the pictures! There’s a Great Wolf Lodge 3 hours from here in Kansas City and we were thinking about trying it out when O gets a little bigger. It looks fantastic! – Jess



It’s so worth it. I would recommend when the whole family is over… I think it was 48 inches tall. Yeah, kids can do the biggest ride if they’re 48 inches. But our 5 year old niece could still do everything except the one big ride and she’s 42 inches tall.



Sounds like a fun weekend! Great work with the food too 🙂



Leave a Comment

et cetera
