Leanne Nalani











{February 13, 2014}   The Opposite of a Rest Day

Yesterday was supposed to be my rest day, a day to relax and let my body recover from the daily routines and regular exercise. Typically on a rest day I will get anywhere between 2,000-5,000 steps just by natural movement throughout the day. My normal goal is 8,000 on a day with cardio. Yesterday I got 11,000! Sheesh, that was an unintended exercise day because there was a field trip.

We took our 9th graders to the Seattle Asian Art Museum since they are learning about China in their LA and SS classes. It is not a very large place and we only had about 70 freshmen so we split into 3 groups and wandered throughout the place while the kids had to analyze the paintings and other art pieces.

3869874246_604d121e3f_o

photoIt’s called “The Black Sun” but most people call it the Donut.

Seattle-Asian-Art-Museum (1)

volunteer park 006

seattle-asian-art-museum

I did a lot of walking because I had to keep track of students and monitor everything. Luckily the staff was very friendly and forgiving around the multitudes of energetic teenagers. We also walked to a tower nearby which  had a lot of stairs so I ended up with 30 floors climbed by the end of the day when I’m usually lucky if I get 10.

Workout Update:

Saturday – Strength with Jackie Warner

Sunday – Zumba

Monday – Zumba

Tuesday – Strength with Jillian Michaels

Wednesday – “Rest” but not really

Today – Racquetball!

Leave a Comment

et cetera
