Leanne Nalani











{February 15, 2014}   Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day started off with a gift from our office manager, the one who I’ve connected with about Hawaii.

photoThis is called a Long John. It’s a pastry with custard in the middle and it is absolutely DIVINE.

What a great way to start my day!

And then she asked me if I would sub for the class from hell… Remember the one that killed my day last week and there were two adults in the room (there are always 2 adults in that class BTW, and even that doesn’t feel like enough)? Yeah, that class. Subbing as the only teacher in the room.

First, I’m surprised that the teacher hadn’t talked to me about subbing ahead of time since she was at a planned conference in Portland – That is very unlike her. Luckily she had a very clear plan and the kids know me very well so in the end it went way better than last week. I am relieved because I spent the better part of the day fretting and stressing over how I was going to deal with such an academically needy/behaviorally challenged group of teens.

Anyway.

After work I came home and strength trained. Mike got home in the middle of my workout and I was in the middle of bicep curls when he very sweetly said, “What do you want me to do with these?”

photo2Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

I dropped everything and gave him a big hug and kiss as we looked for a good vase, clipped the roses and put set them up. So sweet.

Another Valentine’s Day surprise was that my final Nature Box arrived.

photo (3)

After strength training I tried a little bit of each snack to satiate me until dinner. This was an especially tasty box of treats! Black and white granola – Chocolate and vanilla. Mmmmmm. Apple fig bars. Yum! Every snack was really good so I’m excited to spend the next month consuming them. I may have to ask for another subscription for my birthday in May.

Later we went to one of our favorite waterfront seafood restaurants, Salty’s.

download

They had great VIP waterfront seats, although honestly it was too dark outside to really see the water. The special Valentine’s Day menu had a lot of options but the one that stood out was Share with The Sweetheart – Seafood chowder, caesar salad, two petite top sirloin, merlot demi-glace, blue cheese crumbles, garlic-thyme roasted fingerling potatoes, asparagus and one pound of colossal red king crab to share, plus white chocolate mousse cake.

We weren’t sure exactly if we wanted this because crab is just ok to us, but it turned out to be a great choice. I loved the crab but it was kind of annoying and messy to crack open the shells. They split everything onto separate plates and we shared our starters, caesar salad and the seafood chowder. We each even got our own slice of their famous dessert, white chocolate mousse cake.

lWe both had leftovers from our entrees, but absolutely no cake was spared.

The evening was pretty much perfect. I hope everyone had a Valentine’s Day that was just as enjoyable.

*What did you do for Valentine’s Day?

Sounds like a great day. We didn’t go out for dinner but my husband prepared an amazing meal at home with some very nice wine.



Leave a Comment

et cetera
