Leanne Nalani











{February 18, 2014}   4-Day Weekend & Brownie Batter Oatmeal Recipe

It’s been a nice relaxing 4-day mid-winter break weekend. I thought I was coming down with a cold but it has miraculously disappeared so I’m not complaining.

Family Dinner

On Saturday night we went to Mike’s sister’s house for dinner. She had the creative idea to do make-your-own pizzas with those mini Boboli crusts. It was especially fun for our niece and nephew who got to make their own pizzas.

photo3Canadian bacon and pineapple is my favorite.

Pharmacy

I’ve been putting off grocery shopping for a very long time and finally went to the store for the first time in February. Our kitchen was nothing but Nature Box snacks, pasta, and frozen Costco food. I’ve been without yogurt for weeks which is unheard of! I wonder if this is why my skin has been breaking out. I had to pick up my prescription while at Fred Meyer and every time I go there are always 2-3 people being helped and 2-3 people waiting in line. You’d think that would be no big deal but I always end up waiting at least 15 minutes. Why is it that every person who is being helped is always the neediest? I literally take no more than 30 seconds to one minute max. They should have one person helping the 30-second people, one person helping the 20-minute people, and their normal line for putting in orders. For real. Come on, why do people need to take 15 minutes with an attendant? Usually when I see this happening it always looks and sounds like there is some kind of problem. So maybe they need  a problem-solving line? Sorry, had to vent. Our pharmacy is annoying. Venting over.

Racquetball

On Saturday we attempted to go play racquetball without a reservation and of course the courts were booked all day by a single company. We went up there to watch the players for a little while and I vowed to get us a reservation for today.

I also found some Power Bar gel thingies to try because we run out of energy pretty quickly mid-game.

DSC09547It could be the placebo effect but I didn’t get tired at all throughout the hour. I had one gel after 15 minutes and another after 30.

Hair

Today was my hair appointment which I scheduled back in the fall. My hair salon is one of those places where you have to book at least a month ahead of time, so these days I try to book during vacations so I can go on a week day. All I know is that my hair was getting way too long – It’s been getting caught in my coat zippers and even just in my hands if they’re anywhere near my head. Too much hair! Blah. I’m too scared to cut it all off. On top of that, my hair color has started to fade into an “ashy” brown. This is why I love my hair stylist – She is awesome and has great ideas. I get lazy sometimes and usually she asks me what I’m thinking about doing with my hair and I just tell her I’m open to whatever. She throws out ideas, we talk about them and then she gets down to business. Today we went with my favorite color, purple.

photo6No more ashy brown hair.

Recipe: Brownie Batter Oatmeal

On Pinterest I found a great recipe for people who love oatmeal and have a sweet tooth. It’s called Brownie Batter Oatmeal and I found it at this website.

brownie batter 001Photo courtesy The Oatmeal Artist

This stuff is sooooo good! It’s all about the consistency. The banana and the steel cut oats are both key ingredients for brownie batter consistency/texture. Here is the recipe:

Ingredients (serves 1)
  • 1 cup milk of choice, or water (I used water)
  • 1/4 cup quick-cooking steel-cut oats (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1 banana, mashed thoroughly
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder (I would use slightly less cocoa powder because it’s so incredibly sweet)
  • pinch of salt
Instructions
  1. Bring milk (I use 1/2 c almond milk and 1/2 c water) to a boil, add oats, and reduce heat to medium. (If you’d like to add flax or chia seeds, do so now.)
  2. Add mashed banana and stir into the cooking oats.
  3. Once more of the liquid has absorbed, add vanilla extract, cocoa powder, and salt. Stir.
  4. If you’d like to add any extra ingredients (coconut oil, almond or peppermint extract, dried fruit, nuts, sunflower seeds), do so now.
  5. When you’re pleased with the consistency of the oatmeal, transfer to a bowl. Add a splash of your milk of choice and any other additional toppings (chocolate chips, shredded coconut, nuts, etc.).

I absolutely loved this recipe. It tastes like dessert for breakfast. For me I added dried cherries (because I’m obsessed with them) a little early on so they would get warm and soft. The cocoa was really strong so 2 tbsp might be a bit much. Today I tried 1 tbsp cocoa and 1 tbsp PB2 which was ok but the cocoa still overpowered the PB2 so it didn’t make much of a difference.

photo4

I WANT some that oatmeal!! Looks delicious!! 🙂



It’s pretty tasty! I love the consistency.



I totally need to try that recipe!!!! And make-your-own-pizza is the best! We don’t do it often, but my kids love it!



Those pizzas are great because there’s no need to compromise. You get exactly what you want and it was surprisingly filling so I only had half on Saturday and the other half for lunch the next day.



Tara Jane says:

Wow those oats look intense. And your hair looks great – I love a bit of fun colour in hair. 😀



Thank you. 😀 It’s been a while since I’ve had a crazy color in my hair, but it used to be a more regular thing. Purple is always my favorite, though. Kind of like a signature color.



So much to love about your blog post 🙂 Your hair looks fab, the porridge sounds gorgeous (adding cocoa powder to oats is my favourite breakfast ‘treat’) and I’m jealous of your power bar gel sweets… I like the lemon ones and love the cola ones. I wonder how long raspberry will take to hit the UK!



Awww, thanks! I haven’t seen or tried the cola gels but they do sound really good! I was surprised at how good the raspberry flavor tasted.



You hair is awesome! Your kids (at school) must think your the coolest! I’ve made this before and ate it for dinner!!!!



Thank you! My kids are so used to my crazy hair and they never get sick of asking questions about it. They love asking questions! Always about my clothes or my hair or my accessories. haha

You’ve made the chocolate oatmeal for dinner? That sounds like a great dinner to me! I was in the mood for it last night but we had too much taco leftovers.



Okay, my family studies teacher is coming out. The oatmeal looks great but when you said that you cut back on the cocoa powder because of the sweetness alarms went off in my head. Real cocoa powder is bitter and has absolutely no sugar in it. There is probably enough sweetness from the banana that you don’t need to add sugar but I suspect you’re using a hot chocolate mix where you add water or milk to make a hot drink. There’s loads of sugar in those mixes unless it’s sweetened with aspartame. Hope that’s helpful. It’s not meant to be critical. Carol



By the way I like your purple hair.



Thank you! I’m glad to have cut it shorter because the length was getting to be too much. the purple is a fun perk, too!



When you mentioned this I wasn’t sure about the cocoa so I went and checked to see. It turned out to be the cocoa powder with no sugar, so I’m wondering if it could be the banana that makes it too sweet? Or maybe the vanilla? I tried it this morning with only 1 tbsp cocoa powder instead of 2 and it didn’t change anything which makes sense now that you mention it’s naturally bitter. Maybe less banana next time.



Leave a Comment

et cetera
