Leanne Nalani











{April 6, 2014}   Lion King! And Other Shenanigans

It’s been a busy and really fun weekend! I got over my Thursday issues and had a pretty good Friday at work. The best part? It’s spring break! Fridays always seem to leave me with a lot of energy which makes it a good day for strength training. I did 40 minutes with Jackie Warner’s DVD but still had some steps to get in and energy to burn, so I was in the middle of a 20-minute Zumba session when there was a knock at the door.

Surprise Visit

Sweaty and gross, I considered not answering. It was about 4pm which is prime time for solicitors, but I took the risk and it’s a good thing I did – Our friends M & B from Montana were standing there! We had no idea they’d be in town, but M’s parents live just down the road so they dropped by to see if we wanted to go out with them. Hell yeah!  I immediately ran upstairs to change and off we went. Can you tell I was in need of social time? B needed a new purse to replace the one their dog peed on. Sounds like something our dog would do, so I can relate. No one was hungry except for me once we got to the mall so I stopped and got a bubble tea to tide me over. It was an especially good bubble tea, thank god. The last one I got was the worst quality possible. bubble tea We walked around the mall for a while trying to find a good purse. Mike and M didn’t mind being at the mall at all because they were so busy gabbing, so no guilt for the girls. 🙂 I bought a couple necklaces and Mike’s been wanting to try oolong tea since it’s supposed to have health benefits.

photo (10)Trying on silly hats

photo (9)We got duped into buying really expensive oolong tea

After shopping we went to Chowking, a Filipino fast food restaurant. M’s family often goes to Chowking or Jollibee. I was excited to try something new. I’ve had the purple ube cake at his parents’ house before which was pretty good. This time I wasn’t super hungry so I just ordered the asado siopao which is basically steamed hum bao which was exactly like the manapua I grew up eating from the islands. Steamed bun with pork in the middle. I got a bag of frozen minis for home. photo (8) I also tried buchi, bean-filled balls with sesame seeds on the outside. They were my favorite – Mike didn’t want them so more for me!buchi The pancit bihon was pretty good, too. There was also lumpia and fried tofu. Lots of good eats! pancit bihon It was really cool to see M & B since we usually only see them once or twice a year for whitewater rafting or whenever they come to town to visit family. Then came the big day, Saturday!

The Lion King

I had to plan ahead for Saturday because I was worried about going overboard with food due to general anxiety. There would be a lot of socializing and I suspected there would be alcohol which always makes me think it’s ok to eat everything in sight. I started the morning with a normal oatmeal breakfast and later did Zumba for an hour. It felt like the longest hour because I thought the DVD was 45 minutes, so I kept thinking it was going to end and it just kept going! I was so exhausted but quickly perked up after lunch when Malia picked me up. We went to our friend K’s house where 7 of us ladies got together before the big Broadway production. From there we headed to Seattle’s Ristorante Machiavelli. photo We enjoyed amazing food and some red house wine. I got the gnocchi which was way better than the kind I’ve had at other restaurants. I shared with others and took a bite of my sister’s chicken parmesan and someone else’s fantastic spinach ravioli.

photo (1)Made by hand at the restaurant

They only had 2 choices of desserts – Cheesecake or tiramisu. I don’t like either of those things so I was the only one who went without, but I was surprised to find that I liked both when I tried a bite of each.

After dinner? Show time!

photo (7)So exciting!

Mike took me to see this show our very first year of dating. It was a Christmas present and we went with his family in 2005. I was looking forward to seeing it again because it was so amazing. We wandered around inside for a while. The paramount is a beautiful building. photo (6) photo (5) photo (2) The show was spectacular. I just wanted to absorb the whole thing. There were a lot of kids there to see the show, too, which was pretty cool. Since it ended at 11, by the time we got home it didn’t take long before we conked out. The next morning K made a great breakfast. We had bacon, eggs, fruit, and the best part was a home made French toast casserole. I’d woken up at 7:30 and was hungry all the way up until breakfast which wasn’t until after 10am. By the time I got home around 12:30 I was starving again so I made a big bowl of brownie batter oatmeal. Lots of hunger today for some reason but thankfully I’ve got a handle on it.

Spring Break!

Well, tomorrow is spring break and Mike’s first day of work. That means I will be alone all day and that is a big trigger for me. I’ve already been doing some problem solving around it so I have a success plan. Speaking of plans, I had also done some problem solving prior to Saturday and it worked really well. Exercise always helps curb my appetite and make better choices throughout the day. It keeps me from overeating but I also enjoyed some wine and good food.

 

P.S. I almost forgot to mention 2 positive things that happened! My sister drove all of Saturday and Sunday so no anxious Seattle driving for me. Also when I got home today Mike had done some cleaning around the house just so I could get home, unwind, and relax. Awwwwwwww.

 

*Try any new foods lately?

*What was your weekend like?  

I made a broccoli, cauliflower and avocado soup tonight which I posted on my blog. It was yummy and I’d make it again.



It’s fun to try making new things. I especially love just trying new things since I’m not much of a cook. 🙂



Good luck tomorrow! Days alone can be tough. It’s great that you have a plan going into it.



Thanks! So far today is going exactly as planned. I think predicting downfalls and then planning prevention might be key.



Natalie says:

I love reading your posts – they’re like a wee window into a totally different way of life (seriously, bubble tea? I don’t think we get that even in Glasgow, never mind out in the Scottish sticks 😉 ). Glad you enjoyed the Lion King – my Mum went to see it in Edinburgh and she said it blew her away 🙂



I never thought of it that way but that is a kind of cool point about the window! I love reading people’s blogs and it is definitely cool to get to see what it’s like in other places.

In the Seattle area there are a lot of different kinds of ethnic cuisine which I love. Where I live there is a Vietnamese restaurant on every other block, practically! And lots of Mexican, Thai, Chinese, and Indian food. I’d like to check out this Ethiopian restaurant down the road but I’m still kind of scared not knowing what to order!



Leave a Comment

et cetera
