Leanne Nalani











{April 11, 2014}   Ode to ExtraPounds.com – Why I Blog

It’s been a couple years since I started blogging here at WordPress that I had almost completely forgotten about my original blog over at Extrapounds.com. This came to mind when I was reading Jessica’s blog post at A Little More Each Day, Why Do You Blog? First, it brought me back to the beginning of blogging. Not the beginning of weight loss because that would be going way back into the pre-teen years, but it turns out I started blogging in 2006. Wow, that seems like a really long time!

Why did I start a blog?

At first is must have been journaling to hold myself accountable. I was on the Weight Watcher’s Flex Plan and it was helpful to document my journey. Over time I became a part of a supportive community of health-conscious people. Check it out, after losing the weight (not my last weight loss but the one before) they put me on the front page. This site hasn’t been maintained in forever.

extrapounds

Why Do I Blog Now?

As a WordPress blogger, I feel like I am a part of an even bigger supportive community. I love reading other blogs and I love hearing from others! That is probably one of the best motivators through the ups and downs. There is so much to learn from others, too. And if others learn anything from the topics I write about, it makes me feel great that I can contribute.

When I plan and reflect on my blog, there tends to be a lot more success. When there are long stints of not blogging, that sometimes means I am completely off track. I don’t reflect well in my head so it’s important to get it in writing.

Another reason I blog is because it helps me work through issues. In 2012/2013 a whole new problem with binge eating came up that I’d never experienced before in my life. I was able to acknowledge it and now I am working on improving.

Since joining WordPress I’ve been doing a lot more experimenting with the way I think about health, my relationship with food, and body image. You may have noticed body and food obsession more in 2012 and 2013 when I was posting a good deal of skinny selfies, posting specific body weight and measurements, etc… Some of you may even remember the great meltdown of 2013 (You all are so amazing with your support; that meant the world to me).

Now I’m trying to focus more on my life experiences mixed with enjoying good foods, general fitness, and trying to find a balance. I’m happy with my body even if I’m 10 pounds heavier than where I was before. I’m stronger. I’m a fighter. I can overcome anything.

20120814-132320.jpg

It is interesting to look back at how things have evolved. I love that last picture – the epitome of strong!



Leave a Comment

et cetera
