Leanne Nalani











{April 13, 2014}   Roasted Edamame (Recipe)

Last week on good old Pinterest, I discovered something to do with all that frozen edamame that’s been sitting in our freezer. I got sick of boiling it to eat as a snack so instead, I found this recipe. Here’s how mine turned out:

Ingredients:

2 cups frozen shelled edamame

2 tsp extra virgin olive oil

1 tsp kosher salt

1 tbsp. sesame seeds

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450.

Mix edamame, oil, and salt in a bowl. Spread on baking sheet.

photo

Bake for 20 minutes. Remove, add sesame seeds, and mix the edamame around on the baking sheet. Put back in the oven for another 10-15 minutes.

photo (1)

Remove from oven and add more sesame seeds if needed as they don’t always stick very well. Let cool and store in an airtight container. Or enjoy now. Why not?

photo (2)

This is a great little snack to make! My recipe is a bit different because I chose not to thaw the edamame, used kosher salt instead of regular salt, and used regular sesame seeds instead of black ones. Is there a difference besides color? I happened to have regular ones on hand.

*Do you have a favorite snack you make at home?

cathyo says:

How are they? I’ve made roasted chick peas as a snack before but have never tried edamame. I have a bag in my freezer now…might have to give this recipe a try!



They turned out great! I’d definitely recommend giving it a try, especially if you didn’t have plans for using the bag you have in the freezer. That’s what motivated me to make them – I was sick of eating edamame the traditional way so they just sat in the freezer unused.



cathyo says:

my kids love edamame, but the ones in the shells so they can pop them out. I can’t even remember what I bought the shelled ones for…sounds like I now have something to do with them!



I have a bag just hanging out in my freezer too. I’ll have to try this out!



Dot2Trot says:

OK, that looks so deliciously simple I have to try it.



Leave a Comment

et cetera
