Leanne Nalani











{June 1, 2014}   Sunday Successes and Struggles

Happy Sunday! It’s happy for me because I’m satisfied with my weight loss for once. Every week it seems like it’s been a .5 loss or nothing at all. That should be ok since a loss is a loss and I’m still able to enjoy foods I love, but there is always that part of me that wants and expects to lose 2 pounds a week. The reality is that I’m eating  and exercising to lose maybe 1 pound a week and I’m in my 30’s. Isn’t that how it works? Every decade makes it harder? Isn’t it also true that people who have yo-yo’d a lot have a harder time losing weight?

This week was pretty stressful at work and at home. My dad is having health issues and of course the family is worried about him. The school year is slowly winding down and summer break is coming up. I’m just trying to keep my head above water until the 17th.

Successes:

  • Down 1.1 pounds! I weighed in on Saturday and was down .6 and then this morning another .5. For some reason my weigh-ins on the weekends yield better results on Sundays. Why does a single day make a difference?
  • Recognizing the need for a break. Exercise is important but it doesn’t need to be obsessive. If I’m exhausted and stressed it’s not going to kill me to take a day off. That happened on Wednesday after a super stressful work day. It also happened yesterday when I was supposed to strength train. I went to visit my dad in the hospital and then decided to spend the rest of the day relaxing with a video game.
  • “Finishing” The Beck Diet Solution Workbook. That’s all, folks. I finished the last page on Friday. It’s a 6-week workbook, but I put “finished” because it really should never be over. I found a way to adapt the Beck journal into OneNote with the daily checklist and reflection questions. What I learned over these past 6 weeks is that all the information was already in my head but just needed to be recalled. Every lesson in the book was something I was already very familiar with and often practiced. The reason I did this workbook over again is to get back on track and try to break the binge eating cycle. After completing these last 6 weeks without a single binge, I am taking away that I may need to continue daily reflections in order to keep on keeping on. My pattern has been going a few months without a problem and then binge eating for a couple weeks, then going back to normal again. Well, it hasn’t been a few months yet so I am going to keep doing Beck journaling every day to see if it continues to make a difference. It’s not just the journal but the plan. Every week I need to have goals and plans. Another important aspect is that Mike and I talk about our progress weekly and almost daily. Mike has lost almost 10 pounds and I’ve lost 10.8. Yay!

 

Struggles

  • Stress. It’s just that time of year.
  • Sleep. Sleep is not at its best but it’s not terrible, either. I would prefer to get at least 8 hours but it’s been close to 7 or 7 1/2.
  • Unrealistic expectations. My mind is in denial and keeps thinking I should lose more weight quicker. I think this is because it’s been like that in the past, but back then I was obsessively working out for longer periods of time and eating a lot less. True, it is possible to lose 2 pounds a week. However, it is also true that it’s far better for me to live and enjoy my life than torture myself with food deprivation and exercising to constant exhaustion.

 

*What are your successes and struggles this week?

P.S. I have an interview for a middle school position on Tuesday but am still deciding whether I am even interested in it. It’s in the same school district which I’d prefer to leave. The commute is the same which I was hoping to reduce (I currently have to take 3 different freeways to get to south Seattle and traffic is awful here even at 6am). The school building is falling apart just like the school I work at because they were both built in the 1950’s and the district has zero plans to fix the problem. Right now the middle schools are 7th and 8th grade, but in a year all the 6th graders will become a part of middle schools and that means that there won’t be enough classrooms. Either I’ll be shoved into a portable or be sharing a room with several other teachers. So the only thing motivating me with this interview is that I really want to teach a different grade level. Personally I think there will be other opportunities later in the summer when other districts will be doing their interviews but it is risky if this schools offers me the job and I say no.

Good luck with the interview. You’ll know in your heart if it’s right or not. Go with your gut feeling. There will be other opportunities. If it’s not better than where you are now why move?



Thank you. I always get nervous about interviews but it should be a good experience. And thank you for the advice about going with my gut. I like that idea! I think it may be one better than where I am just because it is middle school and I’ve become way too comfortable at me current school after 7 years. I’ll be sure to post an update after tomorrow, though. 🙂



I’ve really been working on the sleep thing. It’s hard to do, but I really do feel lots better when I get a bit more sleep. Of course, it helps if the kids cooperate and don’t wake me up in the middle of the night! (multiple times)

Good luck with the interview. It never hurts to interview and look into other positions. I agree with Mama Cormier…go with your gut. 🙂



I can’t even imagine what it would be like to sleep with kids in the house. Disrupted sleep is worse than not getting enough hours, I think.

Thank you for the luck for tomorrow’s interview! I’m nervous and excited to learn about their special education program and show them what I’ve got to bring to the table.



Congrats on a big week! It’s nice to see the numbers show up a little more in line with what you deserve from all of that hard work, right? 🙂



Leave a Comment

et cetera
