Leanne Nalani











{September 5, 2014}   Weekly Updates

Where did the time go? Too many things have happened and blogging has taken a back seat for a bit. Sorry!

Last Weekend

Saturday, Sunday, and Monday were full of good times with people.

On Saturday my best friend and her boyfriend came over for a game night. We had originally invited probably about 9 people and somehow most people ended up dropping out. Whatever, we had tons of fun just the four of us. We played Last Night on Earth and then many rounds of Cards Against Humanity. Mike made caramel corn and we had a bunch of other snacks all night.

popcorn_smartfood

 

 

cardsagainsthumanity

Cards Against Humanity

On Sunday our friends from Montana were in town so they came over and we had an afternoon of Magic.

Magic_the_gathering-card_back

Yup. We’re geeks.

On Labor Day we went to a meet & greet evening at my new principal’s house. It was a beautiful day and there were a ton of people there! We all brought our families so there were many spouses and kids. Several of us newbies tended to hang out near each other but we also branched out to meet other staff members. I was pretty anxious and there were so many people crowded around that I just stuck to a couple glasses of wine and skipped eating any food for dinner. When we got home I made a bowl of oatmeal with dried cherries and PB2. It was so satisfying!

 

Health

Food and exercise have just existed these last couple weeks. Not a lot of thinking has been involved in any of it. I prepare my breakfast/lunches, I exercise every morning at 6;30am, and I track my intake. I’ve been doing well on calories if you look at MFP. The choices aren’t the healthiest but the overall daily calories are fine. The only thing is that I haven’t bothered to weigh myself. I have no idea how much I weigh. I feel pretty good and my clothes fit, at least! The best part is that I’ve been so preoccupied with work that cravings have been non-existent most of the time. Maybe one of these days I’ll get my act together and see where I’m at. Last time I checked I was aiming to lose 10-15 pounds.

 

The First Week of School!

School started this week. Yay! It’s been 9 years since I’ve worked with elementary kids, so I’ve been waiting to jump in and get things started! As the resource room teacher, the first three days have been devoted to classroom/curriculum prep and student observations. We won’t be teaching kids until maybe the middle of next week. Until then, I’ve been trying very hard to have strong communication skills with staff so they know what to expect. This year there are 3 students with autism in my pull-out program. I’ve been teaching resource room in secondary since 2005 and have worked with very few students on the spectrum, so this is a valuable learning experience for me.

It’s been a good start to the week. Wednesday was DAY 1 and the first thing I noticed was a bottle of lovely apple-scented hand soap from Bath & Body Works with a card from a fellow new staff member.

photo

One of the first things to go on my teacher board.

This morning the principal called new staff members in to the library and told us how well received we’ve been. It was nice to hear that. Then he so graciously gifted us with Starbucks gift cards!

photo (1)

The Starbucks just down the road is going to be dangerous!

Today was a somewhat stressful day. Being Day 3 of school, the teachers are starting to note their concerns and bringing them to me. I’ve been doing some problem solving when it comes to student behavior concerns because that is always the first thing that will pop up on anyone’s radar. I’m just hoping to do the right thing and make the best choices on behalf of the kids. Other than that, the classroom is just about ready!

photo (4)

That letter poster was a pain to put together but it was worth it!

 

photo (5)

Gotta have a number line.

 

photo (3)

My para’s corner plus some punctuation.

 

photo (2)

Hall passes.

 

*How was your week?

*What would you buy with a Starbucks gift card?

I would buy a Vanilla Chai Latte! 🙂



Ooooh, I love chai but haven’t tried that!



Your room looks great!

With work getting busier, I’ve been using my Starbucks gift card from an advertiser. I like the loaded-up, calorie-laden drinks like caramel macchiato or salted caramel mocha!



Thanks!

I’ve never had anything in macchiato form – What kind of drink is that? I love salted caramel drinks/food!



I’m not really sure! LOL It’s tasty though!



You have been busy — but love that your principal gave you the Starbucks card. It’s ALWAYS nice to feel appreciated!



It was for sure a good way to kick off the year!



Your new school sounds so fantastically supportive! I’d save my Starbucks GC for peppermint mocha season. 🙂



So for the staff has been very busy but very nice, too.

Peppermint mochas are so good! I like those and I think they also have gingerbread lattes, right? Holiday drinks are fun.



Leave a Comment

et cetera
